Dinabandhu Sahu Memorial Award


Indian Association of Physics Teachers

IAPT-Dinabandhu Sahu Memorial Award

The IAPT-DSM Award has been established to recognize a young Physics teacher for his/ her significant contribution to undergraduate Physics teaching in any institution in India, recognized by the UGC. It is hoped that the Award will encourage and motivate many more teachers to elevate the undergraduate Physics teaching to a higher level. Along with the recognition and prestige, the Award comes with a citation and a cash prize.

Who is eligible?

A UG Physics Teacher with at least 5 years of Undergraduate Physics Teaching.

Full time teacher as per UGC Guidelines.

Not More than 50 years of age as on 30th of June of the relevant year.

For details visit,https://sites.google.com/site/iaptdsma/home

For any clarification contact, This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

For Nomination (online) by an IAPT Member or Physics Faculty or Head of the Institution; Please visit,

https://www.cognitoforms.com/ IAPTDSMANomination

Form For Application (online) Please visit,


The Award is instituted in memory of Late Shri Dinabandhu Sahu, a multi- faceted personality, and a patriot, whose actions in public sphere, were directed towards social, educational, and economic advancement of people and development of the whole nation. A brilliant lawyer, he offered his legal services pro bono to many freedom fighters, irrespective of their political affiliation. He was a Cabinet Minister of Government of Odisha for two terms and the Advocate General for five years. He represented Odisha in Central Advisory Board of Education and National Development Council. He was a believer in education for all and founded Kendrapara College and Kendrapara Engineering School. The people of Kendrapara have established "Dinabandhu Sahu Law College" as a tribute to the one who never forgot his roots.

List of the Award recipients till date

1. Dr OSK Subramanya Sastri, Central University of HP and

Dr Pathik Kumbhakar, NIT, Durgapur


2. Dr Vipul Rastogi, IIT Roorkee


3.Dr Vandna Luthra, Gargi College,University of Delhi 2017

4.Dr Neetu Chopra Kanya Maha Vidyalaya, Jalandhar and Dr ManoranjanKar IIT Patna 2018

5.Dr Punita Verma, Kalindi College, University of Delhi 2019